The Referees of the 2023 FIFA Womens World Cup

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup is set to be an exciting event, and a crucial part of the tournament is the team of match officials who will ensure fair play and adherence to the rules. FIFA has officially published the list of match officials, including referees, assistant referees, and video assistant referees, who will officiate at the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup.

Referees and Assistant Referees

AFCKate Jacewicz (Australia), Kim Yu-jeong (South Korea), Oh Hyeon-jeong (South Korea), Casey Reibelt (Australia), Yoshimi Yamashita (Japan)
CAFVincentia Amedome (Togo), Bouchra Karboubi (Morocco), Akhona Makalima (South Africa), Salima Mukansanga (Rwanda)
CONCACAFMarianela Araya (Costa Rica), Marie-Soleil Beaudoin (Canada), Melissa Borjas (Honduras), Katia García (Mexico), Katja Koroleva (USA), Myriam Marcotte (Canada), Tori Penso (USA)
CONMEBOLEdina Alves Batista (Brazil), Emikar Calderas Barrera (Venezuela), María Carvajal (Chile), Anahi Fernandez (Uruguay), Laura Fortunato (Argentina)
OFCAnna-Marie Keighley (New Zealand)
UEFAIuliana Demetrescu (Romania), Maria Sole Ferrieri Caputi (Italy), Cheryl Foster (Wales), Stéphanie Frappart (France), Marta Huerta de Aza (Spain), Lina Lehtovaara (Finland), Ivana Martinčić (Croatia), Kateryna Monzul (Ukraine), Tess Olofsson (Sweden), Esther Staubli (Switzerland), Rebecca Welch (England)

The list of referees and assistant referees is diverse, with representatives from all six football confederations: AFC, CAF, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, OFC, and UEFA. This ensures a global representation of officials, reflecting the international nature of the tournament.


Video Assistant Referees

ConfederationVideo Assistant Referee
AFCAbdulla Al-Marri (Qatar), Chris Beath (Australia), Muhammad Taqi (Singapore)
CONCACAFCarol Anne Chenard (Canada), Drew Fischer (Canada), Tatiana Guzman (Nicaragua), Armando Villarreal (United States)
CONMEBOLSalomé Di Iorio (Argentina), Nicolás Gallo (Colombia), Daiane Muniz dos Santos (Brazil), Juan Soto (Venezuela)
UEFAElla De Vries (Belgium), Marco Fritz (Germany), Alejandro Hernández Hernández (Spain), Massimiliano Irrati (Italy), Juan Martínez Munuera (Spain), Sian Massey-Ellis (England), Pol van Boekel (Netherlands)

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup will also feature Video Assistant Referees (VARs), a technology that has been increasingly used in football to assist with crucial decisions. The VAR team for the tournament includes officials from the AFC, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, and UEFA confederations. For the first time in the Women's World Cup, the FIFA Referees Committee has appointed six female video assistant referees, marking a significant step towards gender equality in football officiating.

Lionel Messi Joins Inter Miami

Premier League fixtures 2023/2024