Lucien Bouchardeau awarded a penalty to Italy late in the WC 1998 group stage match against Chile.
He saw a Chilean player touch the ball with his hands. Right after the match he realized his mistake and told an Italian newspaper he would probably be sacked by FIFA and never referee again. That was another mistake because FIFA forbids referees to talk to the press about matches.
Bouchardeau went home, but did get many more matches to officiate, even for FIFA.
Lucien Bouchardeau also officiated matches at the 1997 Confederations Cup, the 1996 and 1998 African Cup of Nations and the Olympic Games 1996.